BFI selects three finalists, jury for the £ 50,000 IWC Schaffhausen Prize | New

Lee Haven Jones, Harry Wootliff and Rob Savage, directors of Celebration, Real things and Dash Cam respectively, were shortlisted for the IWC Schaffhausen Filmmaker Bursary Prize of £ 50,000 in association with the BFI, which will be presented on Sunday 17th October as part of the BFI London Film Festival (LFF).

Haven Jones was selected for their first feature film, while Wootliff and Savage are both selected for their second films. This year’s winner will be chosen by writer, actor and producer Phoebe Waller-Bridge, alongside BFI CEO Ben Roberts.

The shortlisted trio were selected by a five-person jury: Tricia Tuttle, BFI Festivals Director, Ollie Madden, Film4 Creative Director, Eva Yates, BBC Film Commissioning Director, Farhana Bhula, Senior Development Director and BFI production, and film critic Anna Smith.

LFF has also chosen the juries of its competitive sections. The five-person Official Competition jury is chaired by Polish director Malgorzata Szumowska, who won the Grand Jury Prize at the Berlinale 2018 for her film Assault. Alongside Szumowska are casting director Nina Gold, filmmakers Aleem Khan and Mark Cousins, and film critic Jessica Kiang.

Filmmaker Isabel Sandoval chairs the jury for the First Feature Film Competition, alongside Censor director Prano Bailey-Bond, actor / filmmaker Aki Omoshaybi, actor Nabhaan Rizwan and journalist Hannah Strong.

Acclaimed documentary filmmaker Kim Longinotto heads the jury for the documentary competition, along with Kenyan filmmaker Peter Murimi, producer Natasha Dack and Allison Gardner, CEO of Glasgow Film.

Felix Barrett, artistic director of the British theater company Punchdrunk, chairs the jury of the Immersive Art and XR Competition, alongside artists Bruno Martelli and Ruth Gibson, whose Dazzle solo played in the extended LFF section last year.

The jury for the Short Films Competition is chaired by Holy maud director Rose Glass, alongside actor Amir El Masry, producer Madeleine Molyneaux, filmmaker Baff Akoto and critic Elena Lazic.

Savage, Waller-Bridge, Khan, Bailey-Bond, Rizwan, Glass and Akoto have all been named before Filter The stars of tomorrow.

The IWC Schaffhausen Prize is one of the largest financial awards available to filmmakers in the international industry. Previous winners include Daniel Kokotajlo for Apostasy, Richard Billingham for Ray & liz, Glass rose for Holy maud and last year’s winner Cathy Brady for Fires.

The 65th London Film Festival will take place from October 6 to 17. The full schedule was announced last month.

About Monty S. Maynard

Check Also

PU Films Market Size 2022 and Analysis by Top Key Players – 3M, Covestro, SWM, Coveris Advanced Coatings – Designer Women

Los Angeles, USA,- The PU films market The research report examines the market in detail …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.