Twitter is still working on a feature that will give you a way to broadcast tweets that can only be seen by friends you choose. Last July, the social network revealed that it’s considering letting you nominate “trusted friends” so that certain tweets are only visible to them. Now developer and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi has discovered proof that the feature is currently in development and Twitter is now calling it “Flock”.
It might be called differently if it gets a wider release, though – the company said The edge that “Flock” is just a placeholder name. Based on the explanation found by Paluzzi, its current iteration will allow you to add up to 150 users to your list, and only they will be able to see and respond to tweets you send to the group. Any tweet you send to your Flock will come with a notice telling your audience that they can see it because you added them to the group. However, you can edit the group at any time, and Twitter says it won’t let anyone know you’re removing it.
When the company first revealed that it was planning to add a trusted friends feature, it also showed off another concept that would let you take different people within the same account. It is unclear if this version of the feature is no longer in development. Twitter is also testing a feature called Communities which gives you a dedicated space for groups of people with the same interests. Flock, however, was designed with your real friends in mind, like Instagram close friends for the stories. In his statement sent to The edgeTwitter said it was “always working on new ways to help people engage in healthy conversations, and [it’s] Currently exploring ways to allow people to share more privately.”